Never fooled anyone

Our crackerjack dramaturgical team has started posting all of their research here on the blog, and it is filled with fascinating nuggets of information to help artists and audiences alike understand Miller’s brilliantly complex script on a deeper level.

One of my favorite pages so far is a collection of quotes by and/or about Marilyn Monroe, who (despite Miller’s occasional claims to the contrary) is widely seen as a model for the character of Maggie. All of the quotes are worth reading, digesting and ruminating on, but here’s my favorite:

“I’ve never fooled anyone. I’ve let people fool themselves. They didn’t bother to find out who and what I was. Instead they would invent a character for me. I wouldn’t argue with them. They were obviously loving somebody I wasn’t.”
-Marilyn Monroe

Browse through the research by clicking the link on the right, and keep checking back in as we add more…

Leave a Reply

