Leaping into the hole

So, this is the first time I have ever done this as myself, JP, that is. An alter ego of mine wrote during Plaza Suite: Wally the bellhop.

This is my first outing with assistant Directing and the thought was at once thrilling and somewhat terrifying. What was expected of me? What will I be taking charge of, if anything? What if Anish doesn’t like my cologne? What if the actors thought I was trying to conduct my own little casting couch on the sly?

In all seriousness though, I was nervous because I didn’t know what I was doing. It was a challenge that I had not attempted since school. I am very happy to report that this has been a great experience so far. This is very much a collaboration of some wonderful artists bringing forth all their ideas and points of view. It’s the processing, assessing and seeing what works and doesn’t that proves to be the challenge. Thankfully with this imaginative cast and under the leadership of Anish things are falling into place beautifully.

Blue Surge is a very timely story, perhaps more so than when it first premiered almost ten years ago here in Chicago. There is a story of struggle and a feeling of helplessness that this country is facing right now. A sense of “I’m not sure what to do. I feel stuck.” I don’t know where to go, or how to really fix it.” This is a part of what our story is about. This confusion and frustration when feeling stuck in a hole and there is no one to help.

Thankfully a bunch of people have leaped into the hole and a few know the way out.

Leave a Reply

